Dress Your Toddler in Corduroy

You know when you are sewing and you reach for your pincushion and it’s not there?  You turn around and see your elfin toddler giggling and pulling out the pins?  That’s when you need Corduroy!  No, not the bear, the fabric!  I just spent the past week stitching up a fall wardrobe of corduroy clothes for Claire Bear.  This way, I can hear her swishing before she sneaks off with the pincushion.

Simplicity 2523 View A, modified to add length in rise and leg

Simplicity 2523 View A, modified to add length in rise and leg. But I forgot to add length to the straps. It's a little close around the neck, but it works. This was not the pocket that came with the pattern. It's one that I made up.

Instead of rick rack, I used a decorative stitching (my first time!) from my machine.  I like the subtle color contrast.  She can wear any shirt with this color.

Instead of rick rack, I used a decorative stitching (my first time!) from my machine. I like the subtle color contrast. She can wear any shirt with this color. And these overalls will be a part of her "Corduroy the Bear" costume for Halloween. I'm going to make some furry feet and ears.

McCall's 3531 view D

McCall's 3531 view D I added a velvet ribbon tie to the bodice. It is a little big on Claire, but the tie makes it fit nice. She can wear this now through winter until spring without outgrowing it.

Same pattern as above.  This is a great pattern for embellishing.  It has three buttons on the back bodice--another way to add interest.  I added ties in the back to this one, also, in the heart fabric.

Same pattern as above. This is a great pattern for embellishing. It has three buttons on the back bodice--another way to add interest. I added ties in the back to this one, also, in the heart fabric. By the way, on both dresses, I topstitched the bodice bottom instead of handsewing the lining down. It's a little tricky because I had to pin the inside and then sew the outside, but my machine handles pins well and this was much faster and looks fine, to me.

Oliver + S sailboat pants, size 2T

Oliver + S sailboat pants, size 2T. Notice that I did not put the buttons where the pattern indicated and since they are not on the edge, the flaps flare out a bit, pushed by the belly bulge. Next time I will be more careful!

I LOVE these pants!  I wish I could have a pair.  I did not modify them for the cloth diaper, but they are accommodating it pretty well.  I might experiment with the next pair.  This lightweight pinwale corduroy is great for these pants.  The drape and swish of the wide legs are so cute.  My punkin has petite legs so I would expect these pants to be shorter on other children.

I LOVE these pants! I wish I could have a pair. I did not modify them for the cloth diaper, but they are accommodating it pretty well. I might experiment with the next pair. This lightweight pinwale corduroy is great for these pants. The drape and swish of the wide legs are so cute. My punkin has petite legs so I would expect these pants to be shorter on other children.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amanda on September 12, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    OMG! I had a pair of overalls like that when I was in 1st grade (except mine had ruffles at the cuffs) and I wore them out! I remember being so sad when I outgrew them. I hope Claire loves her’s as much as I loved mine!
    The jumper dresses are super cute too. Maybe if #2is a girl, then I can make cute clothes too. I don’t think Ben would quite appreciate the rompers.

    Reply

    • Posted by amberjsquirrel on September 12, 2009 at 3:02 pm

      She seems to really like the things I make. Definitely we will make dresses for #2! I wonder if Ben would wear some overalls that were manly? One downside is that it would be more difficult for potty training. (I haven’t seriously started yet. That is, Claire hasn’t!)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

