Knittercise!

For the past three weeks I have been exercising 3 times a week.  It’s a good effort, but it hasn’t been glorious to fit in this new habit. It’s not like when I first decided to spend Claire’s nap time on making things instead of cleaning the house or whatever I did B.S. (before sewing).  That was exciting and satisfying and opened up a new world!  Unfortunately, my favorite new occupation has not been kind to my body.  I have to admit something not so nice to you:  I have gained weight.

Gaining weight is a reason many people start exercise.  Especially when diabetes runs in the family. But not me!  What is truly motivating me is the neck and shoulder pain I have been having from overuse of my knitting and sewing and cutting muscles.  They are not in any anatomy book, but that’s what I call them.   This means knitting and sewing has become uncomfortable.

An afternoon workout always involves my "spotter."

An afternoon workout always involves my "spotter."

Before the recent pain, I could sit and knit for hours.  I used to read for hours, too.  I never get ants in my pants, I just shift positions, and I’m fine.  My sister on the other hand can’t sit for long and she is go, go, go all day long.  She is also thin and strong and has good posture.  I am soft around the edges and ALWAYS fall off the step if I dare go to an aerobics class.  A weight in my hand looks very precarious.  But put some needles in my hand and I am very coordinated.  Now, my friends and family who know me, don’t be nice and say I’m exaggerating.  🙂  It is the truth.

Now that I know the truth about myself and my inclination to do sedentary, though productive activities, I have to exercise.  And it has to happen pre-dawn because I am never giving up my naptime crafting until Claire gives up her nap!  I’ve been following the advice in this book, Your Best Body Ever by Anita Goa, which I will sum up:  do yoga, and cardio, and strength training in balance.   Do it 3 times a week for one month, then increase intensity and add a day for another month, and during the third month and the rest of your life, do it for 5 days a week for about 90 minutes.

51RuRdQ8rmL._SL500_AA240_

I haven’t lost weight yet, but I have lost the pain.  I have more energy as long as I don’t overdo it.  My wicked trainer wants me to overdo it because he does when he works out (Crossfit), but whenever I try too hard, I end up on the floor and he has to make dinner.  “Know thyself” and I do.  I know that I WILL NOT exercise 5 days a week for 90 minutes during the third month.  I don’t especially recommend this book because the charts are confusing and a couple exercises require gym machines, but I do recommend the entire premise of doing all three types of exercise.  I do them all on the same day, so there is a lot of variety and one of the days I just do yoga, which I enjoy a lot.  What I recommend is my friend’s new blog “Fit Britt”.  She is motivating me a lot just by osmosis through the computer. 🙂  Check it out!

Find the right time of day (first thing in the morning) and the right book or video and you can do it!  Until my Knittercise video comes out, we will just have to do what these naturally athletic people tell us to do. And then we can show them how to blindstitch a hem.

2 responses to this post.

  1. First of all, thanks for the shout out! I’m going to blog more about yoga soon, too.
    I will be first in line to purchase a knittercize video and we can even promote it on my site! In the meanwhile, I’ll also make sure to post some more great ideas for balancing back out your body (and elliminating the pain) from performing sitting activities.

    Finally, Claire is just too darn cute, and your legs are pretty sexy too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

