Heat Index of 98 degrees? Here are three wool sweaters!

 I finished up a few sweaters this week.  It’s a bit hot, but I have autumn’s crisp winds on my mind and future Christmas knitting to start soon.  And okay, I admit this sweater, the Helena, a free pattern on Knitty, was started as a spring sweater and I didn’t finish it in time for Easter.

Sweaters - 4Yarn:  Sirdar Snuggly Baby Bamboo DK

Size:  18 months (fits my 23 month old in sleeve length and bodice just right) 

Modifications:  I did 4 sets of lace pattern instead of 7.

Sweater #2 I just knitted in a flash and put a button on today.  I bought the self-striping yarn when I was in OH at Craftsman Hill Fibers.  This was a great little free pattern.  The only change I would make is the first row to cast on.  It creates the neckline and it came out way too tight.  I made a loop to button it with and closed up the button hole.  It was too tight and I don’t believe Claire has a thick neck.  So perhaps next time I would cast on more stitches or do it very loosely with a larger needle.

Smock top - 1Yarn:  Adriafil Knitcol (only 2 skeins–100 grams!)

Pattern:  Striped Smock Top by Erika Flory

Size:  Large

Modifications:  I added a button loop.  I knitted  6 inches instead of 5.25 from underarm to use up the little bit left on the skein.

Last but not least is a sweater I forgot I knitted last winter.  It was way too big for Claire then and I had to add it to Ravelry.  So, I thought I would share it with you because it is so pretty!  I can’t wait for Claire to wear it this fall on our afternoon walks when the air is nippy and the leaves crunch under our feet.  I tell you, it’s just a little too hot right now!

Sweaters - 8Yarn:  Peace Fleece Worsted (Katya Pink colorway)

Pattern:  Swing Thing by Theresa Belville

Size:  1-2 year old with shortened sleeves

Modifications:  Just three clasps instead of buttons all the way down and I left out the ribbon work on the yoke.

Leave a Reply

