Little Achievements

The blogs I like best “celebrate”, whether it is a finished project or a new friend made or a pretty day.  You don’t see the whole life of the person, just the little bits.  You have to imagine the rest.  If you read my diary, you would see all my woes and despairs (with my hand held limply to my forehead and my eyes uplifted in a dramatic pose).  But I’d rather not bore my four readers 🙂 with that.  At the Amber Jamboree, I want to celebrate!

I’d like to give myself a pat on the back for the following achievements today:

1. Getting through a shopping trip with Claire with the help of this entertainment:

little achievements - 3They are called “yogurt covered snacks” and I know, they really are just candy!  Sorry Mimi and Nana!

2. Learning that bias tape is not just for decoration.  (So that’s why the elastic wouldn’t fit through the casing.  I had to turn the bias tape completely under the leg opening.  Now it’s fixed!)

little achievements - 1

3. After three different sleeve designs, I figured out a really cute one.  And now the Girly Jinbei are finished!

The print was inspired by Claire’s devotion to The Aristocrats.  “Everybody wants to be a cat . . .”

Girly Jimbei - 14

4.  I learned how to use the monograming feature on my new machine and made these little pockets for the aprons that Natalie and Claire will wear.

little achievements - 2

I hope these aprons will inspire me to host the Toddler Art Party I have been musing about.  I should call it a Toddler Art Jamboree!

5.  I downloaded some really cute, free bookplates.  I’m going to swap books with Dacia and bookplates will make returning her books much easier.  Plus, I just love bookplates!

helen_dardik_bookplate_2You can download some for yourself at her cool website:  Orange You Lucky.  Scroll through the comments to find out how to download and resize on a mac.

It was a good day for little things!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kacy on July 13, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    love the bookplates.
    signed,
    stalker

    Reply

    • Posted by amberjsquirrel on July 13, 2009 at 9:02 pm

      Kacy, I knew that had to be you! Your email address is stalker-proof I think. We need to have a play group soon!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

