Archive for May 30th, 2009

Daddy’s Homecoming Dress

teaparty1What a way to finish the week! This was a project that exceeded my expectations, a pattern that was easy to follow and I learned new techniques from, and materials that I didn’t have to buy! (Except buttons:)

Claire is modeling my first wardrobe refashion: a Tea Party Dress from Oliver + S, crafted from my favorite, but worn-out skirt, leftover cotton lawn from the Summer Blouse, and ribbon given to me by my neighbor. Doesn’t she look like a garden fairy?

The Daddy came home from the sea today.  Just so you know the title does not refer to the dress he may or may not have worn to a Homecoming.

teaparty2

Construction Details:

  • Cotton lawn bodice with white embroidered cotton skirt
  • Ribbon applied with fusible tape.  Is this how you are supposed to put it on?
  • In order to make the hem match up on all six pieces, I had to cut the center skirt first, then match it with the side skirt fabric and then cut that piece.  I pinned it immediately to the one I match it with and I labeled each piece.  It was time consuming, but I also didn’t have to handstitch a hem facing either.
  • The curved bodice was tricky, but the kind voice in the pattern said, “Don’t get discouraged.”  At another point, the voice said “Take your time with this.”  How nice to have someone remind you of this.  Thanks Oliver + S!  I will buy another pattern!