Continuous Bias Tape

For the “Summer Blouse” in Weekend Sewing by Heather Ross, you need bias tape. I followed the “Dread Pirate Rodgers” method of made a continuous bias in a tutorial given by Deborah at Whipstitch Lounge.  I was so proud of myself!  No seam ripping–Yay!  Lots of pretty bias tape for Claire and I–Yay!.   For this method of making bias tape, you sew the fabric first and then you do the cutting.  It makes a lot of bias tape at once, although I stopped halfway through the 1/2 yard of fabric I bought for this because I only need 1 1/2 yards of tape.  I have plenty left over for a dress for Claire or maybe for something else.  

Claire is the model holding the bias tape made of cotton lawn.  The blouse is almost done and will be posted soon.

1st continuous bias tape

I am picturing a white eyelet summer dress with this bias tape on the armholes and neckline and bodice for Claire.

One response to this post.

  1. […] can barely fit the bodice of the tea party dress on my fabric leftover from the continuous bias tape project, but it […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

