A Happy Mother’s Day (with Buttercup Bag)

This Mother Goose nursery rhyme sums up my very lovely 2nd Mother’s Day:

curlylocks_realmg

 

 

Curly-locks, Curly-locks, wilt thou be mine?

Thou shalt not wash dishes, nor yet feed any swine;

But sit on a cushion, and sew a fine seam,

And feed upon strawberries, sugar, and cream!

 

 

 

 

I had strawberries and waffles in bed.  I did not make dinner nor feed any swine.

And I got to work undisturbed on a sewing project, The Buttercup Bag, a free pattern created by Rae Hoekstra.  I call it my “going-out-without-the-baby” bag.  You can find it here and you can find a description of how to make a larger version here for going out with the baby here

Buttercup Bag--smallThis is just like my favorite bag I found in a kimono shop only this one has not fallen apart and uses a magnetic snap instead of a zipper.  

Once finished, I decided to make the strap shorter AND learn how to make a buttonhole on my sewing machine.  So I created two sets of buttonholes and folded the strap up and buttoned it.  It was fun!  This is just the beginning of all the lessons I must learn in order to make everything from scratch.  That seems to be my theme, doesn’t it?

Strap button detail of buttercup bag

I bought the fabric at The Fabric Hut.  It was my first fat quarter purchase!  Fat quarters seem very addictive.  You think, I’ll just take a little bite here.  Next week, a little bite there.  And before you know it, you have gained twenty pounds in beautiful 18 x 22 inch squares.  The fabric is “Heat Wave” from Marcus Brothers.  I used three different prints in all.  The three fat quarters cost $6.75 and the magnetic snap cost $4.29.  You can’t afford not to make many of these bags for yourself!  Even when it is not your special one-day-a-year day off.

Leave a Reply

