Shelling Peas

img_1112Shelling peas is like playing hide-n-seek with a toddler. You can clearly see them, heads tucked in tight, but not hidden.

img_1118

They think they are safe. Each pea holds on to its “Oh Sh*t!” handle in the pod, bracing itself. But then here comes the thumb! It rips through the pod and the little guys spill out, to a bowl, to the table, or to the floor for the dog to chase. No smooth landing in my kitchen.

img_1110

Peas are innocent, still in their infancy. And they are so cute! Look at the elfin cap it wears. How often do we get to see that? Usually you see just an illustration in a book or on the label of Mr. Del Monte, below.

img_1101This guy is going to time-out tonight.


2 responses to this post.

  1. Wow you are so descriptive! I never would have thought of that comparison, but I guess it’s true! I came over to say “hi” and thanks for commenting. I’m glad you like the B-Bag for without-the-baby excursions; that’s a great idea, I should really do that too! (:

    Reply

    • Posted by amberjsquirrel on May 11, 2009 at 5:51 pm

      Thank you for visiting! I made my buttercup bag yesterday and posted a blog about it just now. I am new to blogging. It is so helpful to have a place for my ideas to land. And by the way, I am a teacher on hiatus also! I was a kindergarten teacher in the Days Before Baby.

      If you have time to look, you might like to see a modification I made after I finished the bag. I decided to put buttons on the strap to make it shorter.

      Keep up the good work! I enjoy your blog very much. And your taste in fabrics. 🙂 I love those Amy Butler prints on the Remix bag.

      Amber

      Reply

Leave a Reply

